Sunflowers for Spring

Image

 

Spring is here! My loss of sleep due to springing ahead in time has reminded me in the past few days that the seasons are changing… and this sun of course! It’s rare to have such nice weather in Washington in March so I took advantage of it in this sunflower maxi skirtlace tank top and brown gladiator sandals. Of course in Washington you can’t predict the weather, so to offset the chilly early morning and late afternoons I threw on a cropped denim jacket.

The styling for this outfit definitely dipped into the 50’s (my favorite era of fashion). The sunflower and lace combination kept it much more laid back and brought a new take on the traditional 50’s silhoutte. I’ve started to love draping jackets over my shoulders, in the popular style 50’s ladies wore. 

Tip: If you’d like to try the 50’s style, I’d suggest starting small by wearing jackets draped over your shoulders. Or you can play around with proportions and find high-waisted bottoms that work with your body type. High-waists elongate your legs so for all you short people, like myself, it’s a perfect way to seem taller without having to wear skyhigh heels. 

Hope you all enjoy the sun this spring, I’d love to see what trends you dare to try! Just tag REclaimed Threads on your pictures here or on Instagram and I will post my faves 🙂

Leave a Reply

